Icarus

This morning I gave three choices of project to do and then added a fourth; go out and get a job!
I approached a student; “I’m doing the fourth” he said – “I’m redoing my folio – since I did my site (www.dache.ch) I receive about four projects a week – mostly logos – I work with my friends and its beginning to take off. The site? I had it done by a company that does the coding for you; for about a hundred francs they code your design. I don’t see why I should learn all that. I take advantage of the situation.”
– “And school”‘ I ask, “what do we do for you?”
– “A piece of paper” otherwise I learn from doing, on the forums”.

I here this over and over again; school blocks, we learn in spite of school and not because of it. Unless why can we not embraced this energy instead of working against it?

We need to harness and ride the power, not hobble it. Yet institutions put in place more and more controls to desperately hang on to their power and control.

I painted two versions of Icarus, one chained and one free, because I see him as a symbol of education:

Icarus died flying; ignoring his father’s admonitions, exultation and lack of caution sent him too high, where the rarefied atmosphere would not support his weight and the wax of his humanity melted, plunging him to oblivion.
Yet it is Icarus, not his father, Dedaelus, that we celebrate. His father flew and survived to shed tears for his son’s wasted life.
My Icarus is not allowed to fly; the wings of his imagination and possibility are firmly tethered. It is for his own good; he would kill himself. It is the condition of the artist
Yet, again, it is that very aspiration, the attempt that makes man occasionally noble. Tied down his muscles become weak and his feathers will lose their colour: his glorious anger will become tepid acceptance and disillusion-.
As a teacher I watch what well-intentioned systems can do to the fledgling potentials before me; enthusiasm and originality dampened to acceptance and conformity. This image is about my frustration.
But myths are universal, they should not be limited to specific cases; this image is about any moment that you feel that your potential is tied down – with chains or subtle gossamer threads.

Leave a Reply

