Test

I often here the comment from teachers: ”I taught them that, but they did not learn it”. From student’s I frequently hear the opposite: “ we were never taught that”.

 

There is a large gap between what I think I have taught and what is learnt: between the evolution of my own thinking and what the students have taken in.

 

So, today, towards the end of the term, I have set a “test” to see if certain key points about narrative have been assimilated or not. “Can we use the internet to look up the answers?” they immediately asked? Well, why not? The aim is that they assimilate the information, not to punish them for not knowing it. To tomorrow we will discuss the answers and their results and, hopefully, the required information will pass without reward or punishment. 

Leave a Reply

